HomeNewsCounty newsLecturers fight to have public universities in all counties

Lecturers fight to have public universities in all counties

Secretary general, Constantine Wasonga, in a presentation to the Education Committee collecting the views of stakeholders on the proposed changes on October 28 noted the bill if passed to law will favour counties with established public universities.

If passed, the change will be a big win for CS George Magoha, who has previously expressed displeasure at the rush to open universities in the country.

Currently, there are 33 public universities and seven constituent colleges that are spread in 30 counties.

Nairobi county house five public universities, Nyeri has three while Uasin Gishu, Tharaka Nithi and Kisii have two each.

If effected, the proposal will disadvantage 17 counties yet to benefit from the establishment of a public university.

They are Kwale, Tana River, Lamu, Wajir, Mandera, Marsabit, Isiolo, Makueni, Nyandarua, West Pokot, Samburu, Trans Nzoia, Elgeyo Marakwet, Baringo, Kajiado, Busia and Nyamira.

Wasonga further noted that the proposal affects counties and should therefore be considered by the Senate in addition to the National Assembly.

They further oppose the proposal noting it could lead to the merge of learning institutions.

“The proposal will open the door to the merger of public universities in violation of pre-existing court orders,” the proposal reads.

Critics of the dons’ proposal argue that retaining the provision will mean more human resource, further widening the demand for teaching staff.

“This is a selfish interest from lecturers because they know that the creation of new universities will lead to demand for more dons.”

“This could hurt the institutions that are currently financially strapped,” former Commission for University Education chief executive David Some told the Star on the phone.

Related news