HomeSportsAthleticsFull list as legend marathoner Eliud Kipchoge leads Team Kenya in Tokyo...

Full list as legend marathoner Eliud Kipchoge leads Team Kenya in Tokyo Olympics

Athletics Kenya has released the list of athletes who will represent the country in the upcoming Tokyo Olympics this summer, with Eliud Kipchoge, Julius Yego, and Hellen Obiri leading the line.

The list, which includes 44 athletes, also has some notable names missing, including Olympic champions Conselsus Kipruto and Vivian Cheruiyot, who won the gold medal during the Rio 2016 Olympics in Brazil but will now not be defending their titles after missing out on a slot.

Kipruto, who won the 3,000m steeplechase gold medal in Rio with an Olympic record time, was struck off the list after he dropped out in the final of the men’s 3000 meters trials on Saturday, 19 June.

Abraham Kibiwott, Leonard Bett, and Benjamin Kigen will now have the opportunity of bringing the medals home in the discipline.

After Vivian, an Olympics 5,000m champion, missed the slot, marathon World record holder Brigid Kosgei, world champion Ruth Chepng’etich and Peres Jepchirchir have been given the responsibility of making sure the crown in that department remains in Kenya.

In the 10,000m, Geoffrey Kamworor, Rodgers Kwemoi, Weldon Kipkurui, Hellen Obiri, and Sheila Chelangat form part of the team as Eliud Kipchoge, Amos Kipruto, and Lawrence Cherono form part of the men’s marathon team.

World 1,500m champion Timothy Cheruiyot however, is waiting for his fate after he finished fourth during the trials.

Full List:

Women’s Category:

400m – Hellen Syombua

800m – Mary Moraa, Eunice Sum, Emily Cherotich

1,500m – Faith Chepng’etich, Winny Chebet

3,000m – Beatrice Chepkoech, Hyvin Kiyeng, Purity Cherotich

5,000m – Lilian Kasait, Hellen Obiri, Agnes Tirop

10,000m – Hellen Obiri, Irene Cheptai, Sheila Chelangat

20km race walk – Emily Ngii

Marathon – Bridget Kosgei, Ruth Chepngetich, Peres Chepchirchir

Men’s Category:

100m – Ferdinand Omanyala, Mark Otieno

400m – Emmanuel Korir, Moitalel Mpoke

High Jump – Mathew Sawe

Javelin – Julius Yego

800m – Michael Saruni, Ferguson Rotich, Emmanuel Korir

1,500m – Charles Simotwo, Kamar Etyang, Abel Kipsang

3,000m steeplechase – Abraham Kibwott, Leonard Bett, Benjamin Kigen

5,000m – Nicholas Kimeli, Daniel Simiu, Samuel Chebole

10,000m – Geoffrey Kamworor, Rodgers Kwemoi, Weldon Kipkurui

20km race walk – Samuel Gathimba

(20km race) Marathon – Eliud Kipchoge, Amos Kipruto, Lawrence Cherono


Team Manager – Benjamin Njoga

Assistant Team Manager – Kennedy Tanui

Coaches – Julius Kirwa, Patrick Sang, Francis Kamau Mfae, David Letting, Eric Kimaiyo

Team Chaperone – Joan Mwaura

Susan Kamau (Athletics Kenya Chief Administrative Officer)

David Miano (Athletics Kenya Treasurer)

Related news