HomeNewsGatundu MP Kuria claims MPs who voted for BBI received Ksh. 100K...

Gatundu MP Kuria claims MPs who voted for BBI received Ksh. 100K each as bribe

Outspoken Member of Parliament Moses Kuria has claimed that his colleagues in the National Assembly who voted in support of the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) had been given Ksh. 100,000 each as a bribe.

The MP who is allied to Deputy President William Ruto’s Tanga Tanga Movement and opposed the 2020 Constitutional Amendment Bill on the floor of the House took to his Facebook page to claim that the MP’s who supported the bill had been paid by a senior parliamentary leader but he failed to mention the name.

“MPs voting yes currently receiving their Ksh. 100,000 from the office of a senior parliamentary leader,” Kuria posted.

A total of 247 legislators were physically present inside the National Assembly, while another 55 who did not show up registered for the virtual voting during the second reading.

Constitutionally, only 175 MPs were needed for the bill to proceed to the next stage called the Committee of the Whole Stage.

The bill won the approval of a majority of the MPs in both the Second Reading and Third Reading.

At the second reading, 235 MPs voted “YES” and 83 voted “NO” which allowed the bill to move to the third reading.

At the Third Reading, 224 MPs approved the Bill while 63 voted to reject the bill with two abstaining from the process.

According to the law, the bill must be passed by both Houses of Parliament and the next step will be to move the bill to the Senate.

If the Senate passes the bill too, the Independent Electoral Boundaries Commission IEBC will be the next phase where it will be mandated to craft questions in preparation for a referendum.

Kenyans will then go for the poll to vote for it or against it and if they support the document, it will then mean that the Constitution will be amended.

The process also attracted mixed reactions from Kenyans after those who were strongly condemning it made a U-turn and supported it at the last minute.

The document is a creation of President Uhuru Kenyatta and Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) leader Raila Odinga and it is considered as the one that ceased hostilities through the famous handshake in March 2018.

Related news