Home News President Uhuru removes 16 Ruto allies from top committee positions

President Uhuru removes 16 Ruto allies from top committee positions

The rift between President Uhuru Kenyatta and his DP William Ruto continues widening.

In a recent purge in the Jubilee coalition, 16 members of parliament allied to Ruto lost their top committee jobs.

The legislatures who serve as chairpersons and vice-chairpersons received a seven-day notice regarding their impending ouster.

Twelve members with four vice-chairpersons who hold plum positions will lose their lucrative jobs.

The move means the newly appointed majority chief whip Emmanuel Wangwe will communicate about the changes to Speaker Justine Muturi.

In the last few weeks, President Uhuru Kenyatta has organized a purge targeting allies of DP Ruto. The President accused them of continuously sabotaging his plans for the country.

De-whipped members’

The vocal Kikuyu MP and a member of Tangatanga will lose his position as chairman of the Budget and Appropriations Committee.

The outspoken Moses Kuria of Gatundu South will no longer char the transport committee. William Cheptumo of Baringo North lost his Justice and Legal Affairs committee chairmanship.

Also, Gladys Shollei Uasin Gishu’s woman rep will no longer chair the delegated legislation committee.

Others who faced the ax include Alice Wahome vice-chair justice and legal affairs committee, Robert Pukose of Endebess vice-chair energy committee.

Joyce Korir, Bomet Woman rep, will no longer deputize the labor committee while her counterpart Khatib Mwashetani, Lunga Lunga MP, lost his vice-chairmanship from the Lands committee.

Mandera South legislature Adan Haji lost his committee chairmanship of Agriculture, while Victor Munyaka Machakos Town MP will lose the sports committee chairmanship.

However, three committee heads sighed relief after surviving the ax due to their moderation. However, they’ll remain under close watch.

They include Joseph Limo of finance, Moses Lessonet of the budget committee, and David Pkosing transport.

Mwashetani confirmed having received the communication.

“I will reply to the letter to confirm my loyalty to the President and the party,” he said.

The de-whipped members’ fiercely defend DP Ruto under the auspice Tangatanga movement.

Related news

Jubilee suspends three nominated MCAs for backing Sonko

Jubilee Party has suspended three MCAs for what it termed as a breach of the Party’s Code of Conduct. The three embattled MCAs, Hon Ann...

The implications of Ruto turn around regarding BBI

William Ruto had come to be the face of those who did not trust the BBI document, pushed by Raila and President Kenyatta. While many...

December locust invasion could be the worst in Kenya, FAO warns

The Food and Agriculture Organisation agency has warned that the new locust invasion in December could be worse than the last. The Organisation said that...


Mistress to late Matungu MP wins case against widows

The late Matungu Member of Parliament Justus Murunga’s mistress Agnes Wangui Wambiri has won the case against Grace Murunga and Christobel Murunga (widows to...

You have been very patient with Ruto – MP tells Senator...

Kajiado Central Member of Parliament Elijah Memusi has lauded President Uhuru Kenyatta, Baringo County Senator Gideon Moi, and Orange Democratic Movement party leader Raila...

Anne Kiguta’s rocky relationship with K24 bosses exposed

Celebrated news anchor Anne Kiguta has allegedly fallen out with her bosses at K24 after internal wrangles that have pitted her against her bosses. According...

Kenyans arrested and arraigned in court over fake Covid-19 certificates

Thirty-five Kenyans found themselves on the wrong side of the law after the government caught up with them for presenting fake Covid-19 and Yellow...

Matiang’i cracks whip on alcohol industry

Interior Cabinet Secretary Fred Matiang'i has launched a fresh crackdown by coming up with a team that will help him in regulating the alcoholic...

‘Never talk to the president like that’, says Trump as he...

United States President Donald Trump, who lost re-election to Joe Biden Image: Mandel Ngan / AFP ...