HomeNewsTanga Tanga allied MP explains his decision to vote for BBI

Tanga Tanga allied MP explains his decision to vote for BBI

Bahati Member of Parliament Kimani Ngunjiri has explained why he voted for the Building Bridges Initiative (BBI) despite being a member of the Tanga Tanga Movement which is allied to Deputy President William Ruto and has been against the document.

The MP who is a vocal Tanga Tanga movement has come under fierce criticism from a section of Kenyans for voting in support of the BBI bill since he went against his members’ wish.

However, Ngunjiri has defended his choice saying that his change of mind does not mean that he went behind Tanga Tanga members including the second in command who has been at the forefront of criticizing the bill.

He explained that he voted in support of the bill because Nakuru County was going to benefit from it.

He added that he also respects the decision of the MPs who voted against the document as the legislatures serve the people of Kenya and represent their views.

“My vote does not in any way amount to a betrayal of William Ruto. I voted yes because of the benefits we are getting as Nakuru County. As for the MP’s that voted NO, I respect their decision. We are our people’s servants and we have to represent their views,” he stated.

In the report, Nakuru County is expected to be added five more Constituencies and Kimani Ngunjiri argued that getting those five more Constituencies and more funds to the County government means the region will have more development at the grassroots level.

He added that his conscience, therefore, could not allow him to vote against more money to the grassroots.

He went on to made it clear that he is still the chief campaigner of DP William Ruto as he asked those who were criticizing him for his decision if they had seen the say he does not the BBI bill.

Other notable members who are associated with Tanga Tanga Movement and voted for the bill include David ole Sankok (nominated), Kareke Mbiuki (Kaara), Joash Nyamoko (South Mugirango), and Charity Kathambi (Njoro).

According to the Constitution, only 175 MPs were required for the bill to proceed to the next stage which is the Committee of the Whole Stage.

The Speaker announced 235 against 83 members had voted in support of the bill while two lawmakers abstained from the exercise allowing the bill to move to the third reading.

Related news