HomeSportsfootballNew rules adopted to protect the Premier League

New rules adopted to protect the Premier League

The Premier League did not want to stop there after the failure of the Super League project. It must be said that six of its clubs initially participated in the project before withdrawing under pressure from the football world. Despite this withdrawal, the upper echelons of the English championship wanted to mark the occasion by financially sanctioning the six clubs. The latter published this Thursday evening, an official statement to confirm that heavy penalties could be taken if by chance, the six clubs concerned let themselves be tempted again by the Super League.

“At the Premier League’s annual general meeting today, shareholders discussed a range of issues and re-committed to building on the collective of 20 clubs for the benefit of the game as a whole. Following yesterday’s deal between the Premier League, the FA and the six clubs involved in proposals to form a European Super League, shareholders today approved rules to further protect the League against any future breakaway from the competition. Clubs that break the new rules will face significant penalties, ” the press release specifies in particular. Manchester City, Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, Tottenham and Liverpool are warned …

Related news